TypeofL1fe

Home is Where I Lay My Head

Posted on: August 6, 2008

In the five-and-a-half weeks that I have been here, I have truly developed a fondness for Paris, particularly le boulevard Saint Michel, le quartier Latin, and 5ème and 6ème arrondissements. It’s more than just a general affinity for the city, there is an ease that we have come to. I may be outside of my comfort zone, but I am within my element.

We’ve all established a relationship with this city – we have our favorite shops, stores, metro stations and\ metro lines. We have our favorite dishes and our favorite wines, our favorite drinks at our preferred local haunts. Favorite routes, parks, museums, boulevards, views, hangouts, activities – almost all the elements of a permanent resident. We’ve made connections with people here, we’ve settled into some semblance of a routine, and it seems that just as we have grown to this degree of comfort and familiarity, it is time to pack up and leave.

While I am beginning to miss some things about home, I’ve developed such an appreciation for the lifestyle here, and I don’t want to lose it or forget it once I return to the States, although I realize it is somewhat inevitable. For instance, I really haven’t missed my cell phone. Sure, it makes it easier to coordinate (and cancel, and postpone) meetings and get-togethers, but it also kind of adds (at least for me) a more stressful element to life. Even with cell phones, the lifestyle here is just so laid-back, and I love it! I am certainly going to miss this leisurely approach to life.

It’s funny how we’ve grown accustomed to life here, how we’ve acclimated and adjusted, and almost (but not quite) taking our time here for granted. Time has really flown, and I can’t believe that we’re (finally) done with classes – finals are today and tomorrow. It would have been nice if we had finished on Monday/Tuesday so we could enjoy our last few days in Paris leisurely instead of frantically trying to study and pack and cram everything in at the last minute… but, c’est la vie.

Here is a succinct summary of the progression of our time here:
Week 1: OMG, we’re in PARIS!!!!!
Week 2: OMG, we’re still in Paris!!!
Week 3: I love Paris!!! Still so much to do! Can I live here?
Week 4: Wait, we’re halfway done? … I want to live here
Week 5: It’s almost over? But there’s so much more to do! I’m going to miss it… Oh, and I don’t feel like going to class.
Week 6: Countdown, classes, outings, finals, papers, cramming, packing… ahhhh!!!

I’m grateful that I have at least a few more days to finish everything up after the last-minute craziness subsides, and it will be nice to act as a tour guide for my mom and she’ll be a little piece of home for me, so I won’t miss it too much before Wednesday. 🙂

Tags:

2 Responses to "Home is Where I Lay My Head"

another awesome post! so excited and envious for you that you’re in paris! i bet it’s just lovely; even lovelier when you speak french! 🙂
as for my feelings on the pump; it’s so funny, i feel about the same as you do. it’s like, ‘this is not going away’ but something about being ‘plugged in’, you know? hmmm. i’ve done great with the injections, no bruising even. it’s the whole being in public whipping out my [new] trekkie monitor that bugs me way more than the shots right now. however, sometimes i do hate how peeps can look at you…i’m slowly getting over it, though. i mean, it’s not like i hold it straight up and tap my veins in front of kids, haha. pretty inconspicuous. however, back to what we were discussing: i agree the whole pump question is truly individual. maybe if i take up swimming or start having some major issues with the regular injections? argh! i honestly don’t know.
hey, i bought a “frio” packet to keep my insulin cool b/c i love to hike and be outside. how have you been managing your travels with it? i’m so interested in that: airport security, traveling with insulin, time change…how’d it all go?
sorry such a long post-reply… 🙂 take care, dear and talk soon!

hi again justin~
thanks for the cheers. i bet it will all work out when you get back, b/c i can imagine travel does a number on ya, especially with ‘us’ still adjusting to the diagnosis! but you know what? i admire how you have not let any of it stop you and from all the incredibly beautiful posts you’ve written this summer, you have made the most of it and had an awesome time! i learned a lot about just going about it like normal and to remember to keep enjoying new stuff from reading your posts on france. thank you! take care and post soon, dear.

Leave a Reply

