TypeofL1fe

Type 1 Awareness Day

Posted on: April 14, 2008

Kerri Morrone, over at Six Until Me, has designated today, April 14, as Type 1 Diabetes Awareness Day. I had planned to relate my diagnosis story today, but I am running late, as usual. I have a post in the works, and I had hoped to finish by today, but no dice. I’m in the last home stretch of the semester, with two weeks of classes to go, followed by one last week of finals. And of course, various papers, tests and homework assignments have piled up and I feel like I am in too deep to redeem myself. But I have to do something, and so all there is left to do is work, work, work. So, I promise that I will publish my story within the next few weeks, once the frenzy has subsided. Until then, I strongly encourage you to engage in some self-education on the subject of diabetes. Do you know someone who has it? Have a question for them? Ask!!! I know I would much rather be asked a question about something than to let common misconceptions remain intact. Do some digging: inform yourself, read blogs, ask questions – it’s what the day is all about.

Some good places to start:
http://www.diabetesmonitor.com/
http://www.diabetes.org/home.jsp
Here’s a good analogy…

P.S. On an unrelated note, April 14 is also the date that the RMS Titanic hit an iceberg in the Atlantic Ocean and sank. I was mildly obsessed/fascinated with reading about the Titanic as a kid (no idea why), and just wanted to remark on the date.  I know. I’m weird.

Leave a Reply

