TypeofL1fe

News

Posted on: March 28, 2008

I had my regular endocrinologist appointment yesterday. Overall, it was a good one. I really like my current endocrinologist – he’s friendly and concerned, he certainly knows what he’s talking about, and he does a good job of answering my questions and providing useful information. Right now, I’m ISO a new doctor for when I am at home during the summer months, but I need to get the ball rolling a little more quickly on that one… there’s a few options, but I’m unsure what I should/want to do about it. One specializes in women with risk factors for heart-disease, particularly diabetes, and another is a bona-fide “endo”*, with an allegedly poor bedside manner. Or whatever other options we can find in northern VA.

*When I first started reading diabetes blogs, it took me the longest time to correlate the abbreviation “endo” with “endocrinologist” and not “endodontist” because I had to get two root canals when I was 12 as the result of a bike accident.

But, that’s besides the point – I wanted to post because after much thought and internal debate and consideration, I’m getting on the pump! Yes, big changes to come. While I am definitely excited about this, I’m also kind of nervous. And although I’ve heard a lot of others’ accounts of life on the pump and gained a basic understanding of how it works, I really don’t know what to expect. But I’m going to take it as it comes and try not to freak out about it. A big part of this for me is accepting the permanence of my condition, and accepting it for what it is, and to a certain extent, myself for who I am. If that makes sense.

My doctor seems to think I have my numbers under control, but I feel like it’s a different story when you’re just getting a snapshot of the numbers and not living them 24/7, and I hope that having the pump can help me keep them in a tighter range. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see. And even though I am getting the pump now, it may be a while before I actually go on it – I’m going to Paris this summer (late June), and because it takes a while to learn all the ins and outs of using the pump, it might be easier to wait until after I return.

Now that I’m thinking about it, that might be kind of hectic, because it will coincide with a whole lot of other adjustments – moving into an apartment (!) with new roommates to boot, and the beginning of a new semester. Nothing I can’t handle of course 😉 But maybe it would be better to wait until a few weeks into the semester… I guess there’s really no perfect time to start, anyway. Life goes on.

Leave a Reply

