TypeofL1fe

February 14

Posted on: February 16, 2008

*Note: I was going to write and post this on the 14, but never got around to it. So I’m doing it now…

People have a lot of mixed feelings towards Valentine’s Day. I’ve found that most people either really like it, or really don’t like it. And of course, there are always some people (like myself) who are somewhat ambivalent about the holiday. But it can evoke some strong feelings from people. From this dissent, various different titles for the holiday have emerged. Along with the traditional “Valentine’s Day,” it is known as V-Day, which focuses on women’s empowerment and anti-violence against women and girls, Singles Awareness Day, and a Non-Denominational Day of Love.

I’m sure everyone knows at least one person who partakes of each of these views – the empowered woman who rejects male domination of society, the chronic single who is (painfully?) aware of the happy (but are they really?) couples around them, the hopeless romantic, in a relationship or not, who loves the excitement, anticipation, treats and general good humor associated with the holiday, and the light-hearted individual who rejects any constraints on the interpretation on Valentine’s Day in favor of an all-encompassing day of love, affection and appreciation. Of course, I acknowledge that these are over-generalized stereotypes of people, and that there are numerous nuances in peoples’ views and observances (or lack thereof) of Valentine’s Day, but these are some of the most common viewpoints that I have encountered or that I can think of off the top of my head.

As I said before, I’m not completely obsessed with Valentine’s Day, but I’m not bitter or resentful about it either. I do agree that it is very much a “Hallmark Holiday” that is way over-marketed and advertised, and another way for companies to scheme us out of our money, but then again I think that it is a good way to let your close friends and family know that you love and appreciate them. But maybe that’s just me getting pulled in by the advertising and marketing tactics. 😉

Happy Belated Valentine’s Day! ♥

1 Response to "February 14"

What is it like to be an American in Britain on Valentine’s Day? Well, us American expat women living in Yorkshire are still wondering how to celebrate properly!
http://shesnotfromyorkshire.com/2009/02/12/how-do-the-british-celebrate-valentines-day-very-quietly/

Leave a Reply

